Posted on: 10 November 2022

Today CNWL’s Improvement Academy, hosted it’s third Safety Conversation Day for staff.

This virtual event, hosted by Dr Cornelius Kelly, CNWL’s Chief Medical Officer, and Maria O’Brien, Chief Nurse, brings together staff to discuss a range of safety topics including the learning from incidents, sharing best practice, managing medication and reducing health inequalities.

The day ends with our annual CNWL Improvement Academy Awards. This year we had 116 poster entries to the awards. You can view all the entries here

Guest Speaker, Dr Nicola Brink, Director of Public Health in Guernsey, opened the event and shared learning from the delivery of Guernsey's HIV services and the challenges of working in a geographically remote location.


The morning session then focused on improving the approach to managing deteriorating patients, led by CNWL nurse consultant Samara Hammond and learning from incidents with a panel of speakers from across the Trust including in Sexual Health services, Community and Mental Health services.

In the afternoon, our guest speaker, Pedro Delgado, Vice President of The Institute for Healthcare Improvement shared examples of best practice and innovations and the contributions we can make  individually and collectively to make positive change.


The day ended with the CNWL Improvement Awards, hosted by Trust Chair, Professor Dorothy Griffiths and Claire Murdoch, CNWL’s Chief Executive.

You can find all the entries to the awards here

The award winners are below.

Poster Number and link

Poster name

Team members




Lets get physical

Verity Berry & Team


Waterview Centre (KCW)


"Patient or Carer Administration of as-needed subcutaneous medication for common breakthrough Palliative Care symptoms in the home setting for Islington and South Camden

Imogen Eastwood, Sheela Shah, Rachna Alaiya, Ivor Williams, Dr Marlise Poolman


CNS Palliative Care Elipse Camden & Islington (St Pancras Hospital, CNWL), CHS Camden (CNWL), Community Medicines Management Pharmacy (CNWL), EOL Service, Helix Centre, UCLH & HCA Palliative Care Service, Imperial College, NHS Wales

10 (Trainee Award)

Improving the screening and diagnosis of delirium for older

adult patients admitted to Hillingdon Hospital

Dr Selladurai, Priya Prashar, Dr Thapa,

Dr Alston, Dr Habib


Hillingdon Older Adults                  


Rethinking our pathways – improving time taken for ASC assessment in Milton Keynes

Wendy Purdom, Susan Bartholomew, Karen Smith, Dawn Faulkner, Christine Tacconey, Michele Dowling





Community Paediatrics, Community Health Services, Milton Keynes



Factors Associated with the Acceptance of Viral Hepatitis Interventions in Opiate Dependent Patients

Dr Debo Olaniba, Dr Robert McRae, Sariatu Konteh, Vanessa Virtueabbott, Lorna Harrison, Teniola Saraki, Dr Leon Elizabeth Geraghty, Fonville, Prof Anne Lingford-Hughes, Dr Katherine Herlinger


New Beginnings CNWL & Centre for Psychiatry, Department of Brain Sciences, Imperial College, London


Using a QI approach to reducing waiting times: the experience of the psychosocial waiting time board

Christopher Whiteley et al

Jameson/ Diggory

Psychology Services - Step 3 Waiting List Reduction Board


CAMHS QI Spreadathon Event

Tami Kramer



82 (chief medical officer chosen poster)

Improving training and patient safety in Brent

Dr Mike Smith1 , Dr Khalil Hassanally 2 , Dr Sukhdip Bahia 3 , Mr Kingsley Akuffo4 Dr Gareth Jarvis 5 Jameson Speciality doctors

The overall winner of the chosen project award went to Rethinking our pathways – improving time taken for ASC assessment in Milton Keynes from our community paediatrics team in Milton Keynes (Poster 15). The team shared their project during the award ceremony.

Congratulations to all staff who took part in the awards. You’re all winners to us!

Watch it back on the videos below

Part 1 (first video below) shows from 9am to 3pm (which includes Improving our approach for managing deteriorating patients, learning from incidents, sharing best practice and innovations)

Part 2 shows 3pm to 4.30pm including staff sharing safety pledges and the annual awards presentation.